Playing Many Parts



Homemade Soap and A Diet Update

This is a picture of the soap I made pretty quickly last night before going out to

Eco Green Soap

dinner. I had ordered this melt and pour organic soap kit a couple of years ago and for some reason only made one bar, so I pulled the kit out of the closet and gave it a go.

I took about 1 1/2 lbs of melt and pour ogranic soap chunks and melted them in a saucepan over low heat. Once they were liquified, I added about a tablespoon of Spirulina for a pretty green color and stirred until combined. I then removed the concoction from the heat and added a few drops of Orange Valencia Essential Oil and Clove Essential Oil. I then poured it all into a large paper cup I had cleaned and kept from DH’s last trip to the burger place. I waited a couple of hours and cut my almost hardened soap. So easy, and so much cheaper than the fancy organic soap at the stores. I got my kit from Bramble Berry, and I definitely recommend them to anyone! Very customer friendly and the prices are really quite good. I got the instructions for making the soap at the Soap Queen blog which is just too much fun!

Now about that diet and dinner last night. . .whew . . . let’s just say I am quite happy to be here and feeling well today, cause I sure didn’t last night. Let me back up. I started a new diet this week based loosely on the Hallelujah Diet. I am basically eating mostly raw fruits and vegetables with some beans and organic whole wheat mixed in. No meat and no refined sugar at all is allowed and I am drinking mostly organic tea and distilled water. Pretty healthy overall and I have been feeling pretty good too. Until last night. My Brother came to town, so DH and I decided to go out to eat at one of those sit down chain restaurants that are everywhere. I ordered a salad with a tiny bit of chicken and I paid for it all night. I had cramping and pain that kept me awake way into the morning hours.

I won’t go into more detail, but after getting up this morning and having my typical smoothie, I am back to normal and have sworn off all processed food for a good long time at least. I get it. . .organic and raw foods = happy me and happy tummy. Processed food from who knows where = upset tummy and upset me!


Leave a comment