Playing Many Parts



A New Book Challenge – Dewey’s Books

It’s strange this new world of blogs and authors.  But I have been visiting a site for a couple of years and just learned today that the author has passed away.  It leaves me feeling, funny, melancholy I would say.  I searched for the correct definition of the word “melancholy” before writing this post and stumbled upon Ode on Melancholy by John Keats once again.  I was struck by a couple of lines from the second stanza:deweyschallenge1

But when the melancholy fit shall fall . . .
Then glut thy sorrow on a morning rose,
Or on the rainbow of the salt sand-wave,
Or on the wealth of globèd peonies

How fitting then, that some of Dewey’s friends would host a challenge in her honor to read lasting words of beauty. I decided that I too needed to participate in this challenge and honor the memory of a wonderful blogger who indeed touched many with her posts.

I will post my list next week I think, but I will be reading one book from each of the 6 years that Dewey has archives of.  I would encourage any avid reader to join us as well, here is the challenge site.


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Robin says:

    We’re glad to have you join us! I look forward to seeing the list of books you choose. Enjoy your time on Dewey’s blog reading her reviews.

    | Reply Posted 15 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Frery says:

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Look Better, Feel Better, and Raise Your Self-Esteem 150% by Curing Your Cold Sores in 3 Days!

    | Reply Posted 15 years, 2 months ago


Leave a comment