Playing Many Parts



Health Corner – Eat More Brussels Sprouts

Brussels Sprout - Superfood

Brussels Sprout – Superfood

As part of my new “Sugar Impact” diet I am trying to eat a lot more veggies.  I don’t like veggies.  I am always so jealous of my sister-in-law who can munch on red, yellow, orange and green peppers the way I enjoy munching on chocolate.  She honestly loves the taste of all veggies, I however, am not quite wired that way.  Eating healthy vegetables for me is a bit more of a chore, but I know it is good for me, so I am trying hard and finding some ways to do it.

Thanks in large part to my local grocery store, I am finding fun and even delicious ways to add a once hated food, Brussels sprouts, into my weekly diet.  I was wondering just how healthy they may be, so I headed over to the website of my go-to doc for all things healthy, Dr Joseph Mercola.  This guy is serious about helping others beat disease and live and eat better.  I love many of his products, but appreciate that even if you don’t buy his products, you can still benefit from hundreds of free articles on how to eat better and live healthier.  His take on Brussels sprouts is simple, they are filled with vitamins and help you detox naturally, they of course are touted as a Cancer killer too as they are part of the cruciferous veggie family along with broccoli, cauliflower and cabbages.  So learning to eat and love this food is important and at the top of my to-do list.

I can buy these pre-shredded at my local grocery store, which helps me get these on the table.  They have shredded them, added a touch of bacon, and  packaged them in a small container so I can just dump them into a pan and fry them up in some coconut oil at home for a very handy snack or dinner side.  This is easy enough for anyone to do.  I have even found that Brussels sprouts shredded like this makes a very nice rice substitute for many of my stir fries.  Give them a try, with all their health benefits, it can’t hurt.  And feel free to share any recipes you have that make these gems easy or fun to eat!

Leave a Reply

