Playing Many Parts



Saving Souls Is God’s Work – 2 Corinthians 4: 6-7

2 Corinthians 4:6-7

Leave it to God

Leave it to God

For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.  But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us.

As I read this, I struggled a bit.  What is God saying here?  Why won’t he let me move on.  Why does he keep bringing me back to these two verses?  And as usual, it hit me.  He has a message here that is very important to my forward movement and development.

I hear God gently reminding me here that it is HIS will and HIS work to save those I love and pray for.  Between my youth ministry, those at work, my family and my friends, there are some lost souls I continue to pray for.  I try all the time to faithfully lift them up without getting discouraged.  I try to share with them keen points, important verses, wise stories and awesome videos.  I am sad when they don’t respond to these, or worse, respond with indifference or hurtful words.  But I hear God telling me in these verses in 2 Corinthians to instead be grateful for the wonderful work he has done in me.  I hear him calling me to rejoice that my eyes are not blinded and I am not being kept from seeing his amazing light in all things.  I feel Him gently prying that list of names out of my hand so that He can work on them in His way and in His time.  I see His desire to have them call Him Father, and know He cares far more for the lost than I am able to and see my error.

In everything I must give thanksgiving, and then lay the names of those I love at his feet and wait.  I must wait for Him to move and act and save.  I can do nothing, for if it isn’t Gods power moving in them, all the eloquent words in the world will not shine light into a dark heart.   How are you doing?  Have you laid your list of those you wish saved at the feet of the cross and then stepped back to allow God in his wisdom to work as only He can?  Or do you hold tight to that list like I do and try to work my own will and way to get them to God??

Father God, thank you for shining you light in my dark heart.  Thank you for saving me, and continually teaching me your truth, helping me to see your handiwork in all things.  Give me faith Father God.  Help me to do and be just who you want me to be.  May you have all the control and please help me to submit to your authority and love.

Leave a Reply

