Playing Many Parts



Book Review – #Girlboss

I got the audio version of this book free a while back, and honestly didn’t expect to ever actually read the book.  But I found myself on an unexpected long car trip recently with nothing else new in my Audiobooks app.  I was very pleasantly surprised at how entertaining and smart this book was.

#Girlboss

#Girlboss

I had never heard of Nastygal before.  This is most likely because my slightly overweight, over 40 body can’t fit any of their adorable clothes.  After reading the book, I had to check the site out and realized that they sell the exact clothes I WOULD wear if my body would just cooperate and allow some of this middle-aged fat to fall off.  I probably will purchase shoes and accessories as soon as my checking account stops bleeding money due to Christmas.  I digress. . back to the book.

I really like Sophia Amoruso, but I have always loved underdogs and rebels, so no real surprise there.  I think this book is perfect for 20 somethings wanting to start out on their own, 30 somethings thinking about starting something of their own, and 40 and 50 somethings looking to break out of mid-life career tar.  Sophia’s story is inspiring and she is right on.  I know not everyone can turn their dumpster diving into a million dollar business, but not everyone needs to.  I love how she repeatedly points out that hard work and determination are what really got her where she is.  I guess that is kinda the message of this book in a very tight nutshell anyway. . .work hard, dream big, and get it done.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * TheValid says:

    Love this post! I have the book as well but have yet to find time to read it! Nice review! check me out if you have time 🙂

    | Reply Posted 3 years ago


Leave a Reply

