Playing Many Parts



A New Bi-Weekly Habit – Toxic Flush

Ha, IF my sense of humor was like my brothers, that would sound horrible.  However, I am far more sophisticated and so I am of course talking about a release of stored up toxins in my body.  I read a decent article over at Mercola.com this morning that I want to try.  I sometimes get annoyed by the constant hard sell and over-the-top dramatic titles on his site, but in general, I do think Dr Mercola has a decent grasp on what is healthy and what we should try to avoid when seeking optimum health.

So, along with my sincere attempts at eating healthier and exercising more regular, I am very interested in natural ways to help purge toxins from my body.  This article was interesting and the purge he recommends includes things I already have at home and am using.  Here is the practical application part of his rather long article:

To recap, twice a week (or more frequently if you’re engaged in a weight loss program to shed a lot of weight) take about 100 mg of niacin; wait 20 minutes, then exercise for 20 minutes to break a sweat and stimulate circulation.

Follow up with up to 60 minutes in a hot sauna, to really sweat out all the impurities. You can finish off by taking either five activated charcoal tablets, or some zeolite clay, which will bind with toxins, allowing them to be eliminated through your GI tract. Just make sure you do not take it in combination with medications or supplements, as these will also be bound up and eliminated.

If you have heard of other or better ways to detox, please feel free to leave comments and/or links below.  I will be trying this one tonight!

Leave a Reply

