Playing Many Parts



New Daily Habit – Letting Go of the Negative

Getting Healthy CREATIVE COMMONS

Getting Healthy CREATIVE COMMONS

I have been trying to create healthy new habits, including eating better foods, exercising more and drinking more water in hopes that the extra 20 pounds or so I have put on over the past 10 years would magically fall off.  I know, I know, what a setup, but what can I say, I want to be skinny for and upcoming event.

I have been focusing on trying to be more active (walking the dog more and longer) and doing weight training at least 3 days a week.  However, I was listening to a podcast this weekend that suggested my HIIT weight training was too short on length of high intensity.  This woman suggested that it needed to be at least 60 seconds of high intensity followed 60 seconds of low intensity, no more of the whimpy 30 seconds high and 90 seconds low.  So in my typical fashion, I decided that is exactly what I needed to to.  I needed to switch to her method immediately. . .which almost sent me right back to the beginning and wanting to never work out again.

I knew it would be hard, I am out of shape.  What I failed to really think through before I began was that there was no way I could succeed.  I can barely do the 30 second sprint followed by the 90 second walk as it is 7 times through.  I did exactly one round of 60 second sprinting followed by 60 seconds of rest and couldn’t do another.  Failure. . .as usual.  Lucky for me, I may have actually turned a corner in my life.  Instead of crying in defeat and walking the rest of the way home, I did the next interval, but I went back to one that was still challenging for me but doable. . .the 30/60 second interval.  After that one, I did 45/60 and went back and forth like that for all 7 rounds.

Just because someone gives crappy advice doesn’t mean I am a failure.  When I went back to check the advice again, what I found out is that this woman is probably at least 40 pounds lighter than me and has been training hard for years.  I started a month ago.  If you get off the couch today or out of bed or walk/run, you win!  This stuff needs to be challenging yes, but it also needs to be doable and enjoyable or you will give it up.

I am letting go of the negative and choosing the positive.  I finished my intervals Saturday, I did pilates and yoga on Sunday and yesterday I rested.  Today, I am back at the HIIT workout.  .but at my pace because that is what I can do.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * stephcormier says:

    Attitude can make a HUGE difference – so glad you chose positivity! Keep it up and I’m sure the weight will start to come off 🙂

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 3 months ago
    • Let’s hope so, but gotta keep trying anyway! Thanks for the encouragement!!

      | Reply Posted 3 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

