Playing Many Parts



New Daily Habit #2 – Turmeric Milk

I have been reading tons of articles for the past year about the benefits of Curcumin (active ingredient in

Try a cup!

Try a cup!

Turmeric) and have wanted to incorporate it into my diet for a while.  It fights cancer, may help diabetes, is a liver detoxifier, may prevent Alzheimer’s and help with fat metabolism.  If you watch or keep track of any alternative health channels there is always a ton of positive information about all the benefits of Turmeric powder.  So,about a month ago, I finally started a routine that is fairly easy for me.  I started drinking a cup of Turmeric Milk each night before bed.  It is easy to make, tastes delicious, and really does ease my aches and pains so I can drift off to sleep more easily.

Here is a great article on some of the benefits, and a recipe for both turmeric paste and then a milk recipe using the paste.  This is how I do it and I love it.  Let me know how it goes for you.

My Turmeric Milk Recipe:

1 cup of milk (I like to use coconut milk, but any is fine)

1 teaspoon of turmeric paste*

1 teaspoon of sweetener (I like maple syrup best, but honey works just as well)

1 teaspoon of coconut oil

Over low heat, warm the milk, paste and sweetener.  Once warm, add the oil and stir until it is incorporated into the milk.  Remove from heat and drink warm.  (Best not to boil this, just get every thing warm and mixed in.)  Enjoy!

*Make turmeric paste by putting 1/4 cup turmeric powder and 1/2 cup pure water in a pot and simmer it over medium-high heat for at least 7 minutes, stirring constantly.  You will notice a thick paste form.   If it get’s too dry while cooking you can add additional water.  Once cooled, put into a glass jar and put in fridge.  This is good for a few weeks to one month.

1/4 cup turmeric powder, mix with 1/2 cup pure water and simmer over medium-high heat for at least 7 minutes, stirring constantly. You will notice a thick paste form. If it get’s too dry while cooking you can add additional water. Once cooled, put into a glass jar and put in fridge. This is good for a few weeks to one month. – See more at: http://drarjan.com/turmeric-paste-golden-milk/#sthash.f5FuFKFP.dpuf
Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a friend who was doing a little research on this. And he in fact ordered me breakfast because I discovered it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to discuss this topic here on your blog.

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 1 month ago
    • Glad you found it then and found it share worthy! Doesn’t hurt that this is a tasty treat!

      | Reply Posted 3 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

