Playing Many Parts



Discouraged and Can’t Loose Weight

I am 40, weigh about 180, and am only about 5’4″ so I am overweight.  I have struggled with weight and self image my entire life.  I wish I could say that I have reached some higher ground and accept who I am, but I know I need to be at a healthier weight.  I know I can get there, but I do seem very stuck where I am.

Currently, I am walking a bit, going to Zumba for 40 minutes once a week and doing some occasional weight lifting.  I have been doing a lower carb diet for about 4 weeks and am down a pound or two maybe.  Earlier this year, from September to December, I was jogging about 3 miles 5 times a week at a 15 minute mile pace, but haven’t got back into that and won’t until it is warm in the Mid West again.  My reason right now for wanting to get in the best shape I can is two-fold.  First, I would like to look my best at my daughters wedding this summer.  Second, my husband and son love to wakeboard and I wold very much like to join them this summer by participating as well.

I hope you all don’t mind, but I am going to use my blog to chart my progress.  My hope is that I will be more accountable if it is “out there” somewhere, and if I am successful, maybe someone else will benefit from what works for me.  If you are reading this and have tips or advice, please comment away!

My plan of attack is to begin this week with a 50 carbs a day or less diet for 2 weeks.  After that, I will slowly add more carbs, first with fruit and yogurt and watch how that goes.  For exercise, I will keep doing my Zumba class weekly, I also plan to add 2 more sessions of that a week since I enjoy it and will attempt to add a long walk in daily.  Here goes nothing. . .

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. We are all in this together. I have never come across a greater, more accepting group to put it all out there with. Good luck in your journey. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

