Playing Many Parts



Loosing Weight After 30

uphillI’ve tried everything.  I tried the 8 Hour Diet,  I tried the mostly fruit and veggie diet and I did interval training all summer and do you know how much weight I lost. . .0 pounds.

I was pretty sure I couldn’t loose any weight anymore, so  resorted to the only diet on which I have ever lost any weight, the Atkins Diet.  I was two weeks in and hadn’t lost a single pound and was in tears.  At that point, my wonderful husband stepped in and pretty much demanded I cut the crap and start running.  He pointed out how a sister-in-law had lost much weight just by running daily and how many others had recently pointed out that long cardio was the only way they could get the weight off also.

So, at the heaviest I have ever been, I began running with my husband.  I was scared to death.  I am very out of shape and was pretty sure I couldn’t make it two blocks, but he agreed to run with me for 2 weeks to make sure I ran far and fast enough.  It was hard, I won’t lie.  That first day he made me jog almost an entire mile before stopping to catch my breath.  And do you know what I realized?  It is ok to be out of breath and uncomfortable.  I didn’t die, I didn’t even hurt myself, and I learned to run through the shortness of breath and uncomfortableness.

The next week, we were on vacation and had to run over some decent sized hills.  I worried, I cried, I carried on, but do you know what?  I made it!  I ran through the hills and I even learned that after a hill I can keep running and still catch my breath!

And my scale finally rewarded me this morning.  After about 20 miles in 10 days, I have lost 6 pounds.  Nothing to get excited about, except that I am excited!  I can make that scale move!  I can run!  I am an athlete and I can get myself in shape after 30!!

I will keep you posted, but my run tonight is going to be a very smiley one for me. . .it’s working y’all. . .and you can do it too!!

Leave a Reply

