Playing Many Parts



Making Skirts

With a new year came lots of new resolutions.

1.  Save more money for next Christmas

2.  Start eating healthier.

3.  Get more exercise

4.  Make all those clothes I have patterns and material for!

Most of them I am actually still doing 17 days into the new year. . .wait a minute, all of them I am still doing!  Maybe with age comes wisdom and stick-to-itness??  I sure hope so.

I thought I would post a couple of quick pictures of a couple of the skirts I have made so far, I am going at about the pace of one a week.  I am quite happy with that, and while I certainly won’t win any fashion awards, I do like making my own unique skirts that I am pretty sure I won’t see someone else at my workplace wearing. . .it is a bit addicting actually.  There are just too many adorable fabrics out there.

Stretchy skirt one was made mostly following the instructions from this cute blog.  It is so quick and easy I am headed to Hobby Lobby tonight to get more knit fabric!  Here is my little skirt on me at work:Image

Cotton skirt two wasn’t really taken from a blog.  I did the same thing I did with the stretchy skirt above, with some modifications.  First, I used cotton quilt fabric I had purchased to make a bag with last summer.  Second, I rolled down the waist hem about and inch and 1/2 to make a casing for elastic.  I now have a cotton puff skirt like this:Image

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. These are way cute. Do you hand stitch or use a sewing machine?

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
    • I use a machine, but you could hand stitch, it would just take longer. I taught myself to sew, so they are pretty rough, but I just love all the cute material out now, and think even an elastic skirt is cuter than most stuff in the stores! If you don’t have a machine, give it a try!

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
      • I prefer to wear stuff I’ve made myself, even if it’s just jewelry. (I have an addiction to accessories. My husband is much appreciative that I make most of my pieces now instead of buying them.) I don’t own a sewing machine, much to my husband’s dismay. He keeps saying he’s going to get me one. Would certainly make doll making faster.

        Posted 4 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

