Playing Many Parts



Roman Holiday – Costume Analysis

I am studying costume design now, so I am going back through lots and lots of movies that are famous for their costume design and breaking them down in my own analysis.

I have been trying for a couple of weeks to figure out how to get a copy of Roman Holiday to watch, since Edith Head is the first designer I am studying. It finally dawned on me that the local library may have a copy, and sure enough they did.

I had big expectations for this movie, not really knowing much about it at all, and I will be honest and say that I was a bit disappointed. Except for the beautiful gown at the very beginning of the movie, Audrey Hepburn wore a single plain outfit for most of the movie. I suppose had I known before hand that the movie only spans a little over 24 hours I might have realized that, but I didn’t. The gown at the beginning that is pictured above is indeed quite pretty, but the rest of the film wasn’t that great, and with all the choices for dresses back in the early 50’s, well I think it could have been better!

After watching Gentlemen Prefer Blondes last week, I have to say that I am much more impressed with Charles Le Maire than Edith Head right now, but I have MANY more movies to watch to really know who I favor.

Leave a Reply

