Playing Many Parts



WristWarmers – Just In Case You Need Them

I work in a dungeon. Ok, not a real dungeon with dragons or jail cells, torture racks or chains, but a window-less office that is freezing cold no matter the weather outside. So Friday as I was rubbing my hands together and wishing for 5 pm to arrive, I started looking online for some hand warmers or fingerless gloves to help keep my hands warm while I type.

I found these lovelies at a favorite little shopping site, but didn’t feel that I should pay close to $20 for a sweater sleeve.  I went home disappointed and freezing, vowing to find something over the weekend to keep my hands warm. I was finally struck with inspiration Sunday afternoon while at my local “buy-it-cheap” store and I found a pair of knee-high socks that I just loved. . .I decided to make them into hand warmers.

I know, they aren’t perfect, and they certainly aren’t fancy.  I was going for warmth, convenience, cheapness, and speed though, so for my purposes, these are the perfect work wrist warmers, and now I can go back and buy more and perhaps even expand on this wonderful idea!

I would create a tutorial, but that seems silly and self-indulgent. To make a pair of these, cut off the bottoms of your socks, cut two slits where you want your thumbs to go and you are all set! Enjoy!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. what a clever idea! unfortunately, i’m the person at work who is always cranking up the AC to the displeasure of my students. i tell them to bring a notebook, pen, and sweater to my class. lol.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
  2. Have you seen Glittens? The glove/mitten combo things? They are pretty cool and/or make me feel like a homeless man.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
    • I do like those. . .but for me. . .I need my thumb free so I don’t accidentally type in too many spaces! Thanks for visiting and sharing though. . .I am sure they are perfect for someone!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
  3. * helikonios says:

    Haha, I just came across your post because I *did* write a tutorial for making the same thing! It’s a great way to reuse battered old socks that you don’t want to part with.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
    • Thanks for stopping by and sharing your tutorial with us! I honestly hadn’t thought to use up my holy socks:P

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Lewis says:

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you
    penning this post plus the rest of the website is also very good.

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

