Playing Many Parts



It’s Beginning to Look Like . . . Chocolate Fondue!

Every Christmas, without fail, I have to send my mom a frantic email asking for her chocolate fondue recipe.  When I lived at home, a couple of years ago, my favorite holiday memory is of Christmas Eve with my family.  Our tradition was to go to church early in the evening for a candle light service.  We would ALWAYS here a pretty awful rendition of “Oh Holy Night” where my brothers and I would try not to laugh (it NEVER worked) followed by an always beautiful ending of “Silent Night” sung after everyone was handed a little candle of their own to hold.  After church we would fly home to start our Christmas Eve party which was one present and lots of food.  There was always lots of great snacks, but Mom would always lay out the cookies and chocolate fondue.  I don’t remember the rest of the menu for those Christmas Eves . .  . but cookies and fondue were always my very favorites.

Now that I am on my own and always watching my weight, my splurge each Christmas on chocolate fondue has become quite something to look forward to.  Thanks Mom. . .things were always so special!

Mom’s Chocolate Fondue

6  1 oz. squares unsweetened chocolate
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 cup light cream
1/2 cup margarine or butter
1/8 tsp. salt
3 tbsp. creme de cacao or cherry or orange-flavored liqueur
In saucepan, melt chocolate over low heat–add sugar, cream, butter, and salt.  Cook, stirring constantly, about 5 minutes or till thickened–stir in liqueur–pour into fondue pot–place over fondue burner–spear dipper with fondue fork–di0p in sauce
Makes 6-8 servings

Suggested dippers: angel food cake, pound cake, apples, maraschino cherries, marshmallows, bananas, grapes, pretzels, donut holes, etc.

Leave a Reply

