Playing Many Parts



Sewing Project – New Curtains!

I finally took the plunge and bought a sewing machine.  I hemmed and hawed about it a bit because I just wasn’t SURElongcurtains I would use it.  I was gathering patters, and material for projects, but I was so afraid that I would buy it and then I would find out I don’t like to sew and would just let it sit and collect dust.  But I decided last Friday that three months of wanting qualified as  thinking it over enough and so I went to Target and got the little Singer Esteem II.

I have to admit that I had to call in a friend who sews to help me figure out how to get the bottom thread to come up and meet my needle, but once I got that figured out, I was ready to sew, but where to start?  I decided that the material I had begged my mother to cut up for me while she was here 3 months ago was as good a place as any to start, and here they are!

curtainsNot perfect, I know, but really not too terrible either.   My original plan had been to just put a simple once inch seam all the way around and hang them clip hooks, but my DH didn’t think that looked very good and is pretty partial to these ones that stick up on top.  Lucky for him I was feeling up to the challenge and so while he was the engineer, I was the worker.  We make a pretty good team, right?!

I think my next project will be a simple full length apron, since I have looking at thos too for about a year now.  Or maybe it will be a new summer shirt for myself.  I offered to make something for DD, but she informed me that she will NOT be wearing any homemade items because they all look so “cheesy.”  I can’t wait to use one of my new patterns and some fun fabric to prove her wrong.  Or maybe I will prove her right and love my unique design anyway.  Either way, I can’t do worse than the crap they are peddling in the stores now days.  One wash and most of that stuff is useless.  I am quite anxious to try my hand at making something more unique and lasting.  I did alright with my curtains, maybe I will fashion something out of curtains next.  Watch out Julie Andrews!

Leave a Reply

