Playing Many Parts



Finally Friday Fun – Transformations

I got an rosie_the_riveterupdate from one of my favorite sites, requesting entries into The Terrific Transformations Contest and I thought, well, I may as well enter since I have been wanting to blog about this for a while now anyway.   I have been working on many transformations in my life, as I am really trying to better myself and start living a bit more.  As I think about transformations, my most important one, the one that got me started on determining who I am and how I am going to live my life was my transformation into a biker babe.

I have been riding motorcycles with my husband for about 8 years, but I always used to be just a little scared of getting on the bike.  Then one day I started thinking that I needed to face that fear head on and asked my husband to teach me to ride.  Luckly, he is a good sport and he did take me to the parking lot and with much patience taught me to ride.  I was still scared though and while I got my permit, I still wasn’t confident enough to go get my license.

LearningA year later a friend challenged me to really face my fear and just get on with it.  I decided that it was time, and I signed up for classes and went and got my license.  And while I did really well in the class and did get my license, I was still pretty intimidated by my bike.  It took another year, daily riding, and the realization that some of the toughest things in life to do are more worthwile than words can say.  I now ride daily, and I can’t imagine my life without my motorcycle.  It is a huge part of who I am, and I can’t stop smiling once I get on, because I did it!  I faced down a big fear, and found that those things in life that are hard, are the best!

How about you?  What fear have you faced, conquered and then embraced?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Pat says:

    Glad you find motorcycling a wonderful experience. I too love riding but of late have been spending more time on my bicycle. Here in Bangkok, motorcycles are a way of life for so many and we see bikers weave through the rush hour traffic, too daringly at times. My conquered fear? Scuba diving. Have always wanted to be a scuba diver after watching the Bond movie ‘Thunderbolt’ so very long ago when I was hardly 10 years old. The opportunity to learn how to scuba come several years ago. Took the course and after completing it, I gave it up. For me, it was scary. Then one day, a business acquaintance of mine mentioned that she was planning a scuba diving trip for her vacation and asked whether I’d like to join. I declined, telling her that where she was going required an Advanced Diver’s License. She encouraged me to give it a try. I had this mortal fear of the deep but then said to myself that if others can, I should be able to do so too. I forged ahead, completed the course. The underwater scenery was just so beautiful I even forgot that I was scuba diving. Soon I progressed on to other courses and am now an instructor. I thank my business acquaintance who is now a very dear friend for her inviting me on that day, so many years ago. To overcome a fear is one of those feelings one will never forget. But I will also make sure that I don’t take unnecessary risks.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
    • Pat, thanks so much for sharing this story. . that is awesome! Happy diving!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

