Playing Many Parts



My Creativity is Back – Weekend Project

img00162I still remember my first trip to a craft store.  I was 21.  My mom wasn’t a big crafter, she was a school teacher so she had plenty of creativity, she just used it on bulletin boards and lesson plans.  We would often go to the “teacher” stores but we never frequented craft stores.  So you can imagine my shock, and awe at my first visit to the craft store.  I still get that feeling every time I visit a craft or fabric store.  I am getting that feeling a bit too as I look through various craft blogs online.  There is just so much creativity out that that it amazes me.

Well, I decided to quit being overwhelmed this weekend and picked a small project which I was pretty sure I could complete in an hour or so just to get my feet wet.  While I have a couple of  projects up the air:  I am currently working on a scarf I am knitting, I have cut the fabric on a skirt that will be my first sewing project since Jr High (just a couple of years ago), and I bought fabric for some sew-less curtains thanks to some inspiration from the Nesting Place, but I really wanted a finished project.  I now have one:

img00161My old lamp shade was very tired and very plain.  So I created the one above with some silver fabric and some adorable rope I found at Hobby Lobby.  I know, it isn’t much, but for me it was quite an accomplishment.  I now know I can do the two really big ones in my living room that are screaming out for help!  And do you know, I forgot how awesome it feels to create something that makes your home look better!  They need to bottle that.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Autum says:

    Very pretty! That is the best feeling, creating something usable that makes your home look better.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
    • Thanks so much for stopping by. Hopefully I will have a project from your tutorials posted in the near future. . .

      Annette

      | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

