Playing Many Parts



In the Spirit of Cafe Thursday – A Poem

Most have probably already read this poem, but it was new to me today, and seems so incredibly relevant in this crazy political time.  Pastor Niemoller was an interesting figure of World War II and I encourage you to do your own reasearch if this time period or this poem so inspires you.  So grab a cupa joe or tea and have a read, then read again, then promise yourself you will speak up the next time you hear someone speaking ill of another group of people. . .hatred of one leads to hatred of all I think.

“First they came…” by Pastor Martin Niemoller

When the Nazis came for the communists,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
I did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
I remained silent;
I was not a Jew.

When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out.

Leave a Reply

