Playing Many Parts



Freedom, China, and the Olympics

As my family and I prepare to watch the beginning of the olympics next week, I am reminded over and over again that the freedoms we enjoy in this country are not shared by all the world. In my small day to day life I often forget that I live in an amazing country, where I can say and do what I want. I can read the books I want to read and most importantly, I can worship the way I want. Other countries are not so fortunate, China is a country where people do not enjoy the freedoms we do.

I read a book a few years back that touched me, with a picture on it that touched me even more. The book was Safely Home by Randy Alcorn, and the beautiful picture is by Ron DiCianni and it depicts a martyr being welcomed home to Heaven. It is stunning and every time I see it I cry. If you know nothing of the struggle of the Chinese people for freedom, please check it out. Their government would have us believe that all is well in China and that people there live much like we do, but that is simply not the case.  Here are a few websites with more information:

Human Rights in China

Human Rights Watch

Amnesty International

This is a difficult issue, and it is hard to know what to do.  I have decided that I will start by praying for those whe are persecuted in China.  If you are interested in joining me, I encourage you to visit The Voice of the Martyrs site and learn about ways to do this and ways to remember.  As the whole world turns it attention to China, I encourage you to get involved, learn something new, and help those less fortunate than we are in America.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * angelawd says:

    THank you so much for links to these sites. I’m eager to check them out – human rights is a big issue for my family. I appreciate the suggestion to be praying for the oppressed Chinese during the Olympics.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

