Playing Many Parts



I Was Wrong – Watch Sex And The City At Your Own Risk

I wrote a review recently about the Sex And The City movie I had seen, giving it a thumbs up. That review has been bothering me for a few days, and I finally removed the post this morning.  I decided it was necessary to write a more well thought out review.

The original review was quite popular for a couple of days, but after reflecting on it a bit, I realized that I could not in good conscience only point out the positives (which in all honesty are overshadowed by the crudity of the movie itself) and ignore the fact that the movie does indeed laugh in the face of all I hold dear. While I am trying to teach my children right from wrong, and that people have incredible value for their minds and who they are, this movie mocks that. Women are not just about fashion and men. . .we are so much more than that. We are complicated, and no two of us are alike.

While this movie does a couple of things well, the best part of this film is lost.  It does point out the incredible importance of forgiving others. A point I think each of us needs hammered home much more often. It also has some great examples of women making mistakes, and showing the viewer the process they go through to correct what doesn’t work in each of their lives. The movie is smart, as are the women portrayed here. However it seems hard to stomach this message when it is dripping in gratuitious sex scenes that add little value to the movie.  What could have been great is really lost due to the crap that was added.

It was an online friend who helped me see that a more honest assessment of this movie was needed. Thanks angelawd!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * angelawd says:

    I’m honored! Geez, now I wish my teen daughters would take that opinion (they just went to see it).

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  2. * patrick says:

    i noticed that Sex and the City has a polarizing effect on both men and women… people either love the movie or they hate it

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

