Playing Many Parts



Finally Friday Fun – Road Trip

I am taking a road trip home today.  I am packing up DD and DS and we are headed to Michigan.  I have been anticipating our trip all week and can’t wait to stop by The Stray Dog tonight for dinner.  As I have mentioned before, DD and I have been there recently, but DS has not yet and he will love it.

Along the road home are some other sites and fun things, and since I am thinking about them all, I thought I would blog about them in case you ever happen upon the road from Chicago to Michigan.

There are a few fun little wineries springing up along the Michigan West Coast that I think are fun to try.  Of the three I have tried; FennValley, Tabor Hill, and St. Julian, I like Tabor Hill the best.  It is no California, but for a nice little weekend trip I recommend you reserve a seat on one of the tours at either FennValley or Tabor Hill.

Another fun place to stop along the road from Chicago to Michigan is The Chocolate Garden.  As their website states, they have been featured a few times now on the Food Network, so you know it has to be good.  This time, since Mother’s Day is right around the corner and I need some gifts, I can justify a visit.

Kalamazoo is also along this road home, and it hosts a few attractions that are worth noticing.  First, there is Wings Statdium, home to the K Wings.  If you are more of a history buff than a sports fan, there is the Air Zoo that looks absolutely amazing.  Like the outdoors better?  How about a trip to the Binder Park Zoo?

All this between here and there, I just can’t wait to get on the road!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * angelawd says:

    I’ve made the Chicago/Michigan trip many times. When I was a kid, we lived in that wine country you mentioned. Fun for a little kid; boring for a teenager. Wings Stadium? I saw REO Speedwagon there. I remember being breathless at the sight of ALL THOSE PEOPLE in one place.

    A couple of years ago, we drove by the stadium and I was like, “What? This is smaller than my daughter’s high school gym!”

    Perspective.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

