Playing Many Parts



Another Book Challange

I found a book challange today that is right up my alley; the Suspense & Thriller Reading Challenge.  I am so excited about this one, as it is purely reading for enjoyment.  I LOVE a good mystery, in fact, I can’t get enough of them.  Even the shows I regularly TIVO and the movies I watch lean toward mystery, suspense and the law.  I wonder if I missed a calling here somehow, well, if I get laid off I know what to study.  But I digress.

It is a bit overwhelming to me that there are so many sub-genres of suspense thrillers out there.  Did you know that there are more than 30?  Now, I will admit, some of these I have little interest in, but most of them fascinate me.  I can’t wait to put together my list.  I am making a partial here.

2008

  1. Action Thriller – Thunderhead by Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child
  2. Amateur Detective Mystery – One for the Money by Janet Evanovich
  3. Literary Thriller – Booked to Die by John Dunning
  4. Cozy Mystery –  Whoes Body? by Dorothy L. Sayers
  5. Supernatural Thriller – Bag of Bones by Stephen King
  6. Eco-thriller – The Loop by Nicholas Evans

2009

  1. True Crime Thriller – In Cold Blood by Tuman Copote
  2. Drama Thriller – Marching Through Georgia by S. M. Stirling
  3. Historical Thriller – Map of Bones by James Rollins
  4. Psychological Thriller – Blue Justice by Illona Haus
  5. Romantic Thriller – Relocating Mia by Rebecca Lerwill
  6. Comic Thriller – The Eyre Affair: A Thursday Next Novel by Jasper

 

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Liz says:

    I’m loving your list — and am going to take a look at that challenge, as well. I have a couple suggestions. For your “cozy mystery” category, have you ever read Lilian Jackson Braun’s “Cat Who?” series? It’s about a man who moves to this mythical area in the Midwest, with his 2 Siamese cats, who help him solve mysteries. I listened to them over the course of a couple years and loved them. (Well, except for the last one, which was ludicrous. But that’s a different story.)

    And here’s a mystery recommendation, in the suspense/ psychological suspense category. It’s Dancing Above The Waves by Susan Walerstein. There’s the one plot of a marriage in trouble, and then, beyond that, you’ll be riveted by the gist of the story: a hit-and-run accident and the tragic consequences that follow. You will not be able to put this one down. And this is the novelist’s first book! It’s a real page turner.

    Enjoy!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  2. Liz,
    Thank you so much for stopping in, and especially for the recommendations.

    I am always looking for new books to read and both of your suggestions sound great. I have added them to my Amazon wish list. I am really looking forward to the one by Susan Walerstein, as she is a Michigan girl like me.

    Annette

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  3. * J. Kaye says:

    Welcome to the Suspense & Thriller Challenge! 😀 I have posted your link on the right sidebar of the blog. If you haven’t already, feel free to join us on the Yahoo Groups. You’ll find the link at http://suspense-thriller-challenge.blogspot.com/

    Best of luck and above all, have fun!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  4. * ruthie says:

    This sounds like a great challenge to be taking part in. Thrillers are my favorite read… especially those of the techno and political kind.

    One of the best I’ve read lately is Unholy Domain by Dan Ronco. It wraps the fast pace of a thriller with the vision of good science fiction in the ever more real theme of religion vs science. There’s a really cool video trailer on his site if you want to check it out.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  5. Ruthie,
    Thanks for stopping in and for leaving a comment with a recommendation. I will check this out and perhaps add it to the list.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

