Playing Many Parts



Should We Be Happy at Work?

As I was swapping out the guts of a computer yesterday on the job, a very unsettling thought crossed my mind; I don’t like to chase down computer hardware problems.

This train of thought led me to really start thinking that I am perhaps in the wrong career.  I then eventually had to ask my self if that even mattered.

There are many great sites out there to get one thinking about careers and being happy at work.  I ran across this sort of fun quiz on Monster today “Discover Your Perfect Career.”  I think that is a really silly name, but the quiz did get me thinking and actually all of the careers it mentioned at the end are things I have dreamed of doing.

The quiz said that I am an ENFP (Extravert, Intuitive, Feeler, Perceiver).  I actually think this is pretty accurate.  And some of the careers it recommends are Career Counselor, Journalist, Graphic Designer, Copywriter, Corporate Team Trainer and Psychologist.  As I said, these are all things I have thought of in the past.

But do we have to be happy at work?  Does work have to be meaningful and fulfill me?  Or is this a bunch of touchy feely crap that we have bought into?  I am not sure that our parents, that would be the baby boomers, gave this a bunch of thought.  I have a very hard time imagining my dad sitting around wondering if being an insurance agent completes him.  I don’t think he worries too much about whether or not he is happy at work.  I also have a hard time picturing my father-in-law, a very logical practical Dutchman, wondering if he is happy enough at work.

What do you think?  Do we need to be happy at work, are just somewhat content? 

Leave a Reply

